Louisiana Motorcycle Laws 2022: What You Need To Know
Riding a motorcycle is a thrilling experience, but it can also be dangerous. Going on a motorcycle ride, you should follow all the rules and regulations according to the state’s laws.
If you are from Louisiana, you should know the Louisiana motorcycle laws that should abide by every motorcyclist. It includes safety laws like wearing a helmet, eye protection, and proper protective clothing.
While riding a bike, you must follow the traffic rules. You should also have your motorcycle license. Also, you must ensure that insurance covers all your injuries and bike repair.
Below, we have jotted down six fundamental and elementary motorcycle laws of Louisiana to keep you safe and on the right side of the law.
- Age Group Requirements
- Registration Requirements
- Licensing Requirements
- Endorsement Classes Required
- Safety Course Required
- Helmet Requirements
6 Things You Need to Know About Louisiana Motorcycle Laws
Let’s dig into Louisiana’s fundamental motorcycle laws that you must follow while riding a bike and how they prevent you from getting hurt and keeps you safe from violating state laws.
1. Age Group Requirements
Young people are more enthusiastic about riding a bike on open roads, sometimes they prefer to have long drives, or sometimes it’s for racing with friends.
Are you living in Lafayette, LA? Or are you looking for an age requirement for a motorcycle license?
Louisiana’s minimum age requirement for a motorcycle license is 16 years old. However, under 16 years kids can be a passenger with proper safety guards.
It’s a natural behavior of every enthusiastic motorcycle rider who loves sharing their rides with their children. But safety is always a primary concern in the eye of state law.
For passengers, the law varies in every state of the USA. Though in Lafayette, LA, the age limit starts from 5 years only when the passenger wears the proper headgear and eye protection.
Related Article: The Dangers of Riding a Motorcycle Around Louisiana
2. Registration Requirements
Louisiana requires all motorcycles to be registered with the state. You will need proof of insurance, a completed application, and the registration fee. You must provide proof of ownership if your bike is not registered in another state.
3. Licensing and Insurance Requirements
Like other drivers who drive passenger cars or commercial vehicles, motorcyclists must carry at least minimum liability insurance in Louisiana.
Motorcycle accidents are hazardous, and many riders have suffered severe personal injuries that are both expensive and debilitating. That’s why it’s essential to have full proof of insurance, as it gives you peace of mind.
Did you know? If you don’t have an insurance plan, you can’t register your motorcycle and cannot ride anywhere in Louisiana.
Regarding motorcycle insurance, our motorcycle accident injury attorneys at Welborn and Hargett Law Firm strongly encourage our clients to get the most suitable plans for insurance. Because without registered, inspected, and insured bikes, you are not eligible for your motorcycle endorsement.
4. Endorsement Classes Required
There are three main steps required for a motorcycle endorsement, which include:
- Obtain a driver’s license
- Take a written driving test
- Take a riding test.
5. Safety Course Required
Riding a motorcycle for primary transportation has increased in popularity throughout Louisiana, meaning that motorcyclists pay more attention to their surroundings to keep other riders safe and prevent accidents.
Before being licensed, first-time motorcycle riders must complete mandatory Louisiana motorcycle safety, awareness, and operator training courses/training. It is necessary to do so to prevent crashes and fatalities.
6. Helmet Requirements
If you are riding a motorcycle in Louisiana, under the law LA R.S.32:190, you must wear a helmet. Also, these particular features should be there:
- Adequate padding to protect the head from injury.
- A chin strap to keep the helmet in place.
- An interior lining to keep the helmet comfortable when in contact with the head.
- A visor to shield the eyes.
Not only is it the law—helmets are proven to save lives. However, ensure your helmet meets all the standards the Department of Transportation sets.
The Reinstatement of the Universal Motorcycle Helmet Law in Louisiana was enforced in August 2004, which controls the rate of crashes and fatal injuries. The survey further highlighted that the post-reinstatement era reduces the risk of a serious head injury by nearly 70% and fatality by 42%.
Featured Article: What to Do If You Are Injured in a Car Accident Involving a Pedestrian
Injured in a Motorcycle Accident While Obeying Louisiana Motorcycle Laws?
Louisiana motorcycle laws are designed to keep riders safe, but accidents still happen. As per records after the reinstatement of the helmet law in 2004, the accident ratio increased by 80%, though it controlled severe injuries.
Suppose you have been injured in a motorcycle accident caused by another driver’s negligence. In that case, the assistance of an experienced attorney for motorcycle accidents can ensure that you receive a just and fair settlement or compensation for your damaged vehicle, medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Still, have any questions about motorcycle safety laws in Louisiana? Call us at 337-234-5533 or visit our law office in Lafayette, LA.
Request a free Case Review
For a free consultation and to discuss your case for free with Welborn & Hargett, call 337-234-5533 or fill out the free legal consultation form.